Speeding

New Jersey Traffic Ticket Attorney

Woodbridge traffic ticket lawyer Leon Matchin has over 10 years of experience defending motorists cited for speeding and other moving violations. Left unchecked, speeding tickets can remain on your record and increase premiums, making it difficult to insure your vehicle. Fortunately, speeding tickets can be contested, often resulting in reduced or dismissed fines. Be proactive in avoiding suspension or revocation of your driving privileges by contacting Leon Matchin for representation.

New Jersey Speeding Offenses

New Jersey Statutes Annotated (N.J.S.A.) 39:4-98 provides general speed limits for various municipalities, including Woodbridge, Edison, Perth Amboy, and East Brunswick. N.J.S.A. 39:4-127 and 128 prohibit speeding while crossing railroads, bridges, and passing school buses. Even if the speed limit is not posted, drivers should beware of exceeding the following limits:

  • 25 mph in school zones
  • 25 mph in residential zones
  • 35 mph in commercial zones
  • 50 mph on most state highways
  • 65 mph on turnpike and parkway
  • Lower limit in construction zones

New Jersey law punishes both unsafe passing and failure to give overtaking vehicles the right-of-way. N.J.S.A. 39:4-86 fines drivers for failing to “properly pass” another vehicle or crossing “no passing” lines. N.J.S.A. 39:4-88 imposes the same fine for failing to yield the right of way to an overtaking vehicle. N.J.S.A. 39:4-89 punishes “tailgating” or following another car too closely.

Speeding Tickets and Conviction

New Jersey law imposes penalties and fines for speeding according to a point system. Drivers receive at least 2 points for less serious moving violations and 5 for more egregious speeds. The basic fine for speeding 20 to 24 mph over the legal limit is $193. But under N.J.S.A. 39:4-98, motorists face double fines and a 5-point violation for exceeding 29 mph over the limit in safe corridors, major highways, or construction zones. Exceeding 40 mph or more over the posted limit requires a court appearance, where a sentencing judge may impose up to 15 days in jail.

Financial Exposure and Defense

Motorists with 6 or more points are required to pay a $150 insurance surcharge and $25 for each additional point for 3 years. Drivers with 12 or more points will have their license suspended. However, “credits” for one year of good driving can “offset” up to 3 points from the total. New Jersey drivers have the best chance of defeating tickets and increased insurance premiums by challenging radar and “pacing” methods or other required documentation in court. This requires questioning the state’s method of calibration or police officer testimony. Represented motorists often receive a minimum downgrade to an “unsafe driving” charge under N.J.S.A. 39-4-97.2.

Speeding Ticket Defense

If you have received a speeding ticket or are facing a subsequent unsafe driving conviction, Marlboro traffic ticket attorney Leon Matchin can help. A 2-point reduction or “zero point” downgrade can lower insurance premiums under N.J.S.A. 17:33B-14.1 and prevent suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. Mr. Matchin has helped countless drivers beat speeding violations. He represents clients in the Municipal and Superior Courts of Middlesex, Monmouth, and Mercer Counties, though his services are not limited to these areas. Call (732) 662-7658 today for a free consultation or contact us online.