Unlicensed Drivers - 39:3-10b
New Jersey, like all states, requires anyone who operates a vehicle on a public road to have a valid driver’s license. Due to the risk of harm that it presents to other people, driving without a license is a serious traffic violation, and unlicensed drivers may be fined or incarcerated. If you were cited for driving without a license, you should consult a skilled attorney to discuss the steps that you may be able to take to mitigate the potential penalties. Middlesex County traffic ticket lawyer Leon Matchin is dedicated to helping people challenge traffic citations, and he has the knowledge and experience needed to help you seek a successful result. Mr. Matchin frequently represents people charged with traffic violations in Middlesex County, as well as in Monmouth and Mercer Counties.New Jersey Laws Regarding Unlicensed Drivers
N.J.S.A. 39:3-10 is the New Jersey statute regarding the licensure of drivers. Specifically, the law states that no one is permitted to drive a vehicle on a public highway in New Jersey unless the person has a probationary or driver’s license or a permit, or is under the supervision of a driving course. To obtain a New Jersey driver’s license, a person must undergo testing and meet other requirements. While the statute is not broken into parts, a citation for driving without a driver’s license is often known as a violation of 39:3-10b.
If a person who previously had a valid license is cited for driving a vehicle without a license, he or she may be fined up to $500 and may be sentenced to imprisonment in the county jail for up to 60 days. The court may choose to impose either the fine or imprisonment, or both penalties. If a person cited for driving without a license has never had a valid license in New Jersey or any other state, he or she faces a minimum fine of $200 and may be fined up to $500, and he or she may be sentenced to imprisonment in the county jail for up to 60 days. Additionally, the person will be barred from obtaining a valid driver’s license for a minimum of 180 days. The person may also be required to pay court costs and other fees. If he or she wishes to obtain a license in the future, he or she will likely be required to pay high insurance premiums as well.Potential Defenses to a Citation for Driving Without a License
Depending on the specific facts of his or her case, a person cited for driving without a license may be able to have the charges reduced or dismissed. For example, in many situations in which a person is cited for driving without a license, the person has a license from a foreign country or an expired license from another state. While an expired out-of-state license or a foreign license will not excuse a violation of the New Jersey license requirement, an attorney may introduce this evidence to the court in support of the argument that the charges or penalties should be reduced. Similarly, if a person who was cited for driving without a license is unable to pass the tests required to obtain a license, their attorney may introduce evidence of their prior attempts to obtain a license in an argument for lesser charges or penalties.Contact an Experienced Traffic Ticket Lawyer
If you were cited for driving without a license, you may face fines and jail time, and it is prudent to speak with an attorney regarding what you can do to protect your rights. Attorney Leon Matchin assists people who have received traffic citations in seeking dismissals or reduced charges. If you engage Mr. Matchin's services, he will aggressively advocate on your behalf to help you seek the best outcome possible under the facts of your case. Mr. Matchin represents people charged with being unlicensed drivers throughout Middlesex County and in Monmouth and Mercer Counties as well. You can contact Mr. Matchin via the online form or at (732) 887-2479 to schedule a free and confidential appointment.